Google Maps API Key

Topics: General
Nov 17, 2010 at 6:52 AM

Hi,

Im new to GMap and testing it for a few days.

So, in order to include it in my commercial software, each of my customers, including myself, need to obtain a Google Maps API Key?

Thank you

Coordinator
Nov 17, 2010 at 7:05 AM

not exactly, google maps api key is required just to get fresh geocoding limit, so you do not share the default one. But to use google/bing maps itself in commercial app you need to get their business plan or make a custom deal. Anyhow, if you use openstreetmap, you can go free. So it depends on what do you use.

Nov 17, 2010 at 8:45 AM

Hi radioman,

please explain me this.

1. Use GMap.NET in commercial software need Google MAPS API key?

2. If True, then every customer need a unique key, or I must obtain a key and include it in the software?

Thank you for your support

Coordinator
Nov 17, 2010 at 9:48 AM

1. depends what type of map do you use, as i've said

2. depends if total sum of all requests from all customers reach the key limit

"Is there a limit to the number of geocode requests I can submit?

If more than 2,500 geocode requests in a 24 hour period are received from a single IP address, or geocode requests are submitted from a single IP address at too fast a rate, the Google Maps API geocoder will begin responding with a status code of 620. If excessive geocoder usage continues, access to the Google Maps API geocoder from this IP address may be blocked permanently. 

When using one of the Maps API geocoding classes, requests are made by the user's web browser and count against the quota for the user's IP address. This means that excessive usage on the part of one user will not impact other users of your site. However, if many users access the Google Maps APIs through a single proxy, they will share the quota of the IP address of the proxy.