yet another Cache question

Topics: Help
Jul 26, 2012 at 9:24 AM

Hi all, sorry to inflame you with yet again "beginner" question.

Before resorting to ask in this forum, I have tried to comprehend related threads for weeks to no avail :(
I am no .NET master or advanced programmer. I am just a novice programmer. I have to say that this GMap control is awesome, but maybe a bit too overwhelmed for me coz it is so complex and the codes, documentations, tutorials are scattered all over the place and I often confuse where to start (as a beginner) so therefore I kindly ask anyone here to share their expertise.

I want to use my program on a computer that does not have access to internet at all (even for initial cache or prefetch), and also does not have access to the application data (so in my code i changed the local cache to @"C:\GMapCache\"; as suggested in this forum).

So I use a different PC that has internet to initially prefetched the maps - using the demo program, then exported it to .gmdb. and hope that I can use this file in my program to get the map offline.

In my program I defined the access mode to CacheOnly, and do this: put the gmdb in C:\GMapCache\TileDBv5\en folder, and the map does not load (blue tiles).

I then deleted the cache files from C:\GMapCache\TileDBv5\en  and added an import button. I imported the gmdb file, and i seen it sitting in the C:\GMapCache\TileDBv5\en folder. But again the map still does not load (blue screen).

I honestly have no idea as to why. Can anyone who has successfully access the map using CacheOnly enlighten and maybe share their piece of code?

Coordinator
Jul 26, 2012 at 10:05 AM

well it should work, you are missing something else

Jul 27, 2012 at 10:50 AM

hi radioman. thx for the response.

i started over from scratch and tidy up the code. now it works.

however i still wonder why the form is slow to load (as mentioned by others too in this forum).