GMap.NET prefetch cache database thinning

Dec 19, 2009 at 6:20 AM

Hello,

First, thank you very much for making this fantastic software.  I am very new to mapping and this tool has made my project so much easier.

I have prefetched the tiles for the entire state of Georgia from OpenStreetMaps, by selecting a square around it ( an option to select an irregular shape would be nice ).  Now, I would like to reduce the size of the .gmdb cache file by removing the bordering states and ocean tiles.

Looking at the tables in the cached database file, I couldn't find anything that allowed me to associate a tile record with a Lat and Lon position, or which state it was part of. How can Gmap.NET continue to find street names and addresses perfectly using this cached file when the required data doesn't appear to be in it?

Am I looking in the wrong place?  Is the data embedded in the PNG blob field?  How can I selectively remove un-needed tiles?

Thanks in advance.

Coordinator
Dec 19, 2009 at 3:14 PM

only if can dump google geochache names dadabase ;} ..and you can remove un-needed tiles by deleting them ;} but there is no built-in function for that, maybe i'll create more functional coaching tool some day

Dec 19, 2009 at 5:21 PM

How does GMap.NET still find streets and addresses on a "Cache-Only" OpenStreetMaps map when I'm disconnected from the network? Is the Google geochache names database embedded somewhere?

Please don't get me wrong, I'm very impressed, but I'd just like to know how it works and where the data is coming from. I thought the data would have to be in the "data.gmdb" file, but I didn't see anything.

Thanks again for this great tool.

Don

Coordinator
Dec 19, 2009 at 6:13 PM

there is local cache for geocoding, look at C:\Users\xxxxxx\AppData\Roaming\GMap.NET

Dec 20, 2009 at 1:06 AM

O.k., I see what's happening now.